对于欧洲和世界其他许多地方的预定父母来说,通过代孕在当地建立家庭是不可能的。 造成这种情况的某些原因可能是由于有关本国妊娠代孕的法规和法律影响,提供妊娠代孕的妇女交通不便或短缺和/或她们的性取向使她们无法在家中寻求选择。 由于这些原因,以及其他许多原因,来自世界各地的目标父母正在国外寻求选择,以通过代孕实现自己的父母梦想。

随着国际代孕的选择越来越多,美国仍然是欧洲有意父母代孕的最安全和可靠的目的地之一。 美国已经制定了一些最成熟的代孕法律惯例和协议,有意向的父母可以放心,因为他们将掌握该领域一些最有经验的专业人士的知识。 因此,尽管其他国家似乎在经济上更便宜,但美国仍然是全世界许多有意父母的理想选择。

今天,我们正在与预定的父母José和Renato进行交谈,他们是来自葡萄牙的同性夫妇,他们选择通过美国代孕来追求自己的父母梦想。 他们向大家介绍了迄今为止的为人父母的旅程,以及他们对美国国际代孕的总体过程的看法。

何塞和雷纳托,请告诉我们您自己。 您是如何见面的?何时决定开始研究家庭建筑的选择?

我们来自葡萄牙里斯本及其周边地区,并在3年​​前由一个共同的朋友互相介绍。 这几乎是即时的联系,我们在见面后的四个月内就一起生活了。 José已经有了一个通过收养而生的孩子(Rafael),隔一个周末与我们生活在一起,他很快就热身到Renato,很高兴看到这种联系如此迅速自然地增长。 我们会这么说 这才是我们真正开始考虑拥有自己的孩子的开始,我们可以在我们已经充满幸福和爱的家中一起抚养他们。 生孩子是我们真正想做的事情,而我们第一次更认真地谈论这个话题是在雷纳托诞辰的2017年XNUMX月前后。 我们可以说,这是我们惊人的跟随旅程的开始。

是什么使您最终决定选择美国代孕? 您是否考虑过其他目的地?

当我们最终决定生育自己的孩子时,我们有两种选择–收养或代孕。 我们考虑了两种选择的利弊,我们发现:

收养–我们发现这对我们来说是一个便宜得多的选择,但是这将是一个非常漫长的过程,这可能要花费我们几年的时间。 这使我们感到沮丧,因为在葡萄牙,尽管收养对同性恋伴侣是合法的,但经过大量研究,我们发现同性恋伴侣通常被置于领养名单的末尾。 对于我们来说,作为一对同性恋夫妇,这意味着可能需要更长的等待时间,而且由于我们的年龄,我们不想再等很多年才能实现父母的梦想。

代孕–在研究代孕时,我们发现尽管相比之下,这种选择最终会变得更加昂贵,但我们喜欢这样的事实,即我们对情况和决策过程拥有更多的控制权。 我们还有很多选择可以决定,以确保它适合我们的个人预算。 这是我们追求代孕的主要决定因素。

经过大量研究,我们得出的结论是,只有两个国家允许男同性恋者通过代孕生产孩子,并且在孩子的出生证明上也都包含我们的名字-美国和加拿大。 一旦将搜索范围缩小到美国和加拿大,我们就会权衡每种方法的利弊。 

在加拿大,代孕是合法的,但赔偿却不合法。 从整体上看,此选项似乎是理想的选择,但是我们发现寻找替代匹配项的等待时间对于我们来说太长了。 我们发现,这是因为缺乏妇女仅出于利他理由而寻求代孕。 因此,美国是剩下的最理想的选择,它使我们所有的选择都打了勾。

您是先决定您的诊所或代理商吗? 您如何决定要使用哪个代理商和诊所?

我们首先选择了我们的机构,非凡构想。 有趣的是,我们发现非凡构想的方式是偶然的。 在葡萄牙媒体中,很可能会定期讨论代孕的问题,但不幸的是,从来没有以积极的方式进行讨论。 

2018年XNUMX月,我们在葡萄牙一家报纸上阅读了一篇有关其他国家代孕的文章,文章中提到了超乎寻常的构想(EC)。 阅读后,我们向EC发送了一封电子邮件,那是我们开始EC之旅的开始。 此外,由于我们不是讲英语的母语人士,所以我们很高兴得知EC的员工会说葡萄牙语! 我们指定的协调员对我们来说是如此令人惊奇,而她说葡萄牙语对我们是如此重要。 这些原因加在一起,标志着我们正式决定推进非凡构想。

在选择试管婴儿诊所时,我们不知道从哪里开始或在诊所寻找什么,因此需要帮助。 我们希望有双胞胎,并且没有太多的IVF诊所愿意将2个胚胎转移到代孕中。 我们非常感谢,EC的协调员 向我们介绍了 加州生育合作伙伴 我们最终决定选择谁作为我们的IVF诊所是正确的选择。 

匹配过程对您来说是什么样的,您最终是如何选择代理的?

总体上来说,匹配过程很棒。 就像找到试管婴儿诊所一样,我们也不知道从哪里开始或在替代物中寻找什么。 我们唯一知道的是,美国代理人将获得补偿,我们需要寻找一个在预算范围内的代理人。 

我们不敢相信,仅仅一天后,我们的代理机构就为我们找到了完美的替代产品! 它发生在眨眼之间。 从那时起,匹配过程一直非常顺利。 最初,我们的代理人没有得到我们的IVF医生的批准,但是在与我们的IVF医生交谈并且完成了对我们代理人的医疗档案的重新审查之后,她很幸运地被批准继续前进。

一路上有困难还是路途颠簸?

并不是很多,但是我们会说,我们在此过程中遇到的主要困难是成本控制。 实际上,我们必须出售自己拥有的公寓才能负担全部费用。 

在我们旅程的开始,卵子供体的选择过程很长。 由于不同的原因,我们不得不更换卵子捐赠者四次。 这不是任何人的错,但是我们必须说,如果不是我们的代理机构,我们可能已经放弃了。 值得庆幸的是,他们一直在那拉动我们,我们永远感谢我们的机构不让我们放弃梦想。

由于我们不是讲英语的人,因此在此过程中的某些时候,语言障碍使法律方面有时难以理解。 从积极的方面来说,经过两年的英语交流,我们的书面英语和英语交流能力得到了极大的提高! 

最后,距离很难适应,但是技术和通过视频讲话的能力使跨海洋和陆地的连接变得极为容易,这使我们脱离了这一过程。

您的代理人是否在第一次胚胎移植时就怀孕了?

是的,我们的代理人怀孕了第一次胚胎移植! 我们转移了两个胚胎,并且都进行了第一次尝试–我们真幸运! 我们的代理人还告诉我们,她觉得她在我们诊所的所有工作人员,当然还有我们的IVF医生那里,都得到了非常好的照顾。 加州生育合作伙伴 –我们为此感到高兴。 不幸的是,由于从加利福尼亚到葡萄牙的时差,我们不能亲自参加胚胎移植,但是得知我们的代理人得到照顾后,我们感到很欣慰。 

您的代理机构如何通过代孕过程为您提供帮助,您对非凡构想的体验如何?

在整个代孕过程中,我们机构的协助过去是而且将继续是无与伦比的! 在此过程中,我们一直无法寻求更好的支持。 Extraordinary Conceptions的出色团队一直在为我们提倡并帮助我们的每一步。 即使在我们的道路上似乎有障碍,它们也总是存在。 如果我们要时光倒流,我们不会改变决定采用非凡构想的事情。 我们认为,没有任何其他机构能够像EC的工作人员一样提供支持和帮助。 我们永远找不到能够充分表达对所有员工的感谢的言语。 非凡的构想 帮助我们实现梦想。 ️

要了解有关非常规流程的更多信息,请单击此处

在整个过程中,您是否有家人和朋友的支持?

老实说,不是开始。 实际上,我们是完全由我们自己开始这个过程的,只有一个伟大的朋友支持我们的决定,并且在整个旅程中一直为我们服务–这是3年前介绍我们的那个朋友。 在此过程中,更多的亲戚和其他朋友也开始向我们展示他们的支持,但这花了一些时间。

你的孩子什么时候到期? 您有生育计划吗?

我们的孩子的预计到期日是2月XNUMX日nd 2020年,但正如我们期望的那样,双胞胎很可能会在此之前到达。 我们还没有给出太多的生育计划,说实话,但我们已经决定我们俩都将在分娩室,我们的代孕人也对此计划表示同意并感到满意。 尽管我们迫不及待想抱抱婴儿,但最重要的是,它们将安全健康地到达,而且我们的代孕婴儿也将在分娩后保持健康。 

您对刚开始或正在经历北美代孕过程的其他国际夫妇有什么建议?

我们会告诉其他有意向的父母,在旅行之前要考虑的主要事情是照顾好自己的财务状况-通过代孕 北美 这可能是一个非常昂贵的过程,因此,确保该过程的预期父母预算很重要。 如此说来,在美国的过程也是一个过程,您知道自己将受到当前现行法律和惯例的保护,并且将由具有多年代孕经验的专业人员逐步指导您。 在整个过程中,我们始终感到放心,在美国,我们的父母权利得到了保证,这非常令人放心,对我们而言,这比在其他地方进行此过程更为重要,这可能会节省金钱,但在我们可能没有相同的情况下安全感和保护感。 

有关代孕的更多信息,请单击此处

对于打算考虑家庭建房选择的父母,有没有最后的决定?

在代孕不合法的葡萄牙,“国际”代孕是我们建立家庭的唯一选择。 我们希望有意的父母知道他们必须为一些失望和意外的挫折做好准备,因为没有完美的旅程。 

代孕是一个漫长的过程,有时恒星不会按照我们希望的方式排列。 但前进的每一步都是巨大的成就,尽管我们与家庭未来成长的地方和地方相距遥远,但我们不能不为我们走父母之路和梦想而感激成为父母最终会成真。

*继续关注 约瑟夫 和Renato在Instagram上的旅程,网址为@ 2future.dads.in.portugal *

如果您对国际代孕或您的家庭选择有任何疑问,请联系我们的英国和欧洲客户关系顾问希拉里  [电子邮件保护].

For many intended parents in Europe, and many other parts of the world, building their families through surrogacy locally is not possible. Some of the reasons for this may be because of the regulations and legal implications surrounding gestational surrogacy in their country, the inaccessibility or shortage of women offering to be gestational surrogates and/or their sexual orientation prevent them from pursuing options close to home. For these reasons, and many others, intended parents from all over the world are seeking options abroad to reach their dreams of parenthood through surrogacy.

As options for international surrogacy are increasing, the USA continues to be one of the most safe and secure destinations for European intended parents to pursue surrogacy. The USA has some of the most well-established legal practices and protocols in place for surrogacy and intended parents can take comfort in the fact they will be in the hands of some of the most experienced professionals in the field. Therefore, although other countries may seem like a financially cheaper option, the USA continues to be an ideal option for many intended parents worldwide.

Today, we are speaking with intended parents, José and Renato, a same-sex couple from Portugal, who chose to pursue their dreams of parenthood through surrogacy in the USA. They open up about their journey to parenthood thus far and what the overall process of international surrogacy in the USA was like for them.

Jose and Renato, please tell us about yourselves. How did you meet and when did you decide you were ready to start looking into family building options?

We are both from in and around Lisbon, Portugal and were introduced to each other by a mutual friend over 3 years ago. It was an almost instant connection and we were living together within 4 months after meeting. José, having already had a child (Rafael) through adoption who lives with us every other weekend, warmed up to Renato very quickly and it was amazing to see how that bond grew so quickly and naturally. We would say that this was the beginning of us really starting to think about having children of our own, who we could raise together in our home that was already full of happiness and love. Having children was something we decided we really wanted to do and the first time we’ve talked about the subject in a more serious way was around December of 2017, on Renato’s birthday. This, we would say, was the very beginning of our amazing journey to follow.

What made you ultimately decide on the USA to pursue surrogacy? Did you consider any other destinations?

When we finally decided to have children of our own, there were two options for us – adoption or surrogacy. We considered the pros and the cons of both options and we discovered:

Adoption – we found that it would be a much cheaper option for us, however it would be a very long process, which may have taken us several years. This was frustrating for us as because in Portugal, although adoption is legal for gay couples, after much research, we discovered that gay couples were often placed at the end of the adoption lists. For us, as a gay couple, this meant potentially an even longer wait time and because of our ages, we did not want to have to wait years and years to reach out dreams of parenthood.

Surrogacy – when we researched surrogacy, we discovered that although this option could end up being more expensive in comparison, we liked the fact that we had more control over the situation and decision-making process. There were also so many more options that we could decide on to make sure it fit into our personal budget. This was the main deciding factor for us in pursuing surrogacy.

After lots of research, we concluded that there were only two countries that allowed gay males to have children born through surrogacy and equally to have both of our names on the child’s birth certificate – USA and Canada. Once we narrowed down our search to the USA and Canada, we weighed out the pros and cons for each. 

In Canada, surrogacy is legal however compensation is not. This option seemed ideal overall, but we found that the wait time to find a surrogate match was too long for us. We discovered it was because of a shortage of women wanting to pursue surrogacy for altruistic reasons only. Therefore, the USA was the remaining and most ideal option left, which ticked all of our boxes.

Did you decide on your clinic or agency first? How did you come to your decision on which agency and clinic you were going to use?

We chose our agency, Extraordinary Conceptions, first. Funnily enough, the way we found Extraordinary Conceptions was by chance. In the Portuguese media, it happens that periodically the topic of surrogacy is discussed, though, never in a positive way unfortunately. 

In January of 2018 we read an article in a Portuguese newspaper, about surrogacy in other countries and Extraordinary Conceptions (EC) was mentioned in the article. After reading, we sent an email to EC and that was when our journey with EC had started. Furthermore, as we are not English native speakers, we were so happy to learn that EC had staff that spoke in Portuguese! Our assigned coordinator was so amazing with us and the fact that she spoke Portuguese was so important to us. These reasons combined, marked our official decision to move forward with Extraordinary Conceptions.

When it came to select an IVF clinic, we had no idea where to start or what to look for in a clinic and needed help with this decision. We wanted to have twins and there were not many IVF clinics that were willing to transfer 2 embryos to a surrogate. We were so grateful that our coordinator at EC introduced us to California Fertility Partners who we eventually decided was the right choice for us as our IVF clinic. 

What was the matching process like for you and how did you end up selecting your surrogate?

The matching process was great overall. Just like finding an IVF clinic, we had no idea where to start or what to look for in a surrogate. The only thing we knew was that the US surrogate would be compensated, and we needed to look for a surrogate that would fall within our budget. 

We could not believe that after only one day, our agency had found us our perfect surrogate match! It happened in what felt like the blink of an eye. And from then on, the matching process continued to be very smooth. Initially our surrogate was not approved by our IVF doctor but after speaking to our IVF doctor and a re-review of our surrogate’s medical files was completed, she was thankfully approved to move forward.

Were there any difficulties along the way or bumps in the road?

Not many but we would say that the main difficulty we had along the way was the cost containment. In fact, we had to sell an apartment we owned in order to afford the overall costs. 

At the start of our journey, the egg donor selection process was long. We had to change egg donors four times, all for different reasons. It was no fault of anyone’s however we must say that if not for our agency, we may have given up. Thankfully they were always there pulling us up and we are forever grateful to our agency for not letting us give up on our dream.

As we are not English native speakers, the language barrier at some points of the process, made the legal aspects difficult to comprehend at times. On the positive side, after two years of so much communication in English, our written English and our ability to communicate in English has greatly improved! 

Lastly, the distance was hard to get used to but technology and the ability to speak over video has made it extremely easy to connect across the ocean and the land that keeps us apart from the process.

Did your surrogate get pregnant the first embryo transfer?

Yes, our surrogate got pregnant with the first embryo transfer! We transferred two embryos, and both took the first try – we were so lucky!! Our surrogate also let us know that she felt she was extremely well cared for by all the staff at our clinic and of course our IVF doctor, at California Fertility Partners – we were so happy for that. Unfortunately, due the time difference from California to Portugal, we couldn’t attend the embryo transfer ourselves but were relieved to know our surrogate was taken care of. 

How did your agency assist you through the surrogacy process and what was your experience like with Extraordinary Conceptions?

The assistance of our agency, throughout the entire surrogacy process was and continues to be unsurpassable! We couldn’t have asked for better support throughout this journey. The amazing team at Extraordinary Conceptions was always there advocating on our behalf and helping us every step of the way. Even when it seemed obstacles were in our path, they were always there. If we were to go back in time, we would not change a thing about our decision to go with Extraordinary Conceptions. We do not believe that there would be any other agency able to be as supportive and helpful as the staff at EC has been. We will never find words to be able to fully express our gratitude to all the staff at Extraordinary Conceptions for helping to make our dreams come true. ️

Did you have family and friend support throughout the process?

To be honest, not to start. In fact, we started this process completely on our own, with only one great friend who supported our decision and has been there for us throughout the journey – this is the same friend that had introduced us, 3 years ago. Further down the road in the process, some more relatives and other friends started showing us their support too, but that took some time.

When are your babies due? Do you have a birth plan in place?

The estimated due date for our babies is August 2nd 2020, but as we are expecting twins, it’s likely they will arrive before then. We haven’t given a birth plan too much thought to be honest, but we have decided that we will both be in the room for the delivery and our surrogate has also agreed and is happy with this plan. Although we can not wait to hold our babies in our arms when they arrive the most important thing is that they will arrive safe and healthy, and that our surrogate will also be healthy post delivery. 

What advice can you give to other international couples just starting out or currently going through the surrogacy process in North America?

We would tell other intended parents that the main thing to consider before pursuing their journey is to take care of their finances – going through surrogacy in North America can be quite an expensive process therefore making sure the intended parents budget for this process is important. Saying this, the process in the USA is also one in which you know you will be protected by the laws and practices currently in place and that you will be guided step by step by professionals with many years of experience in surrogacy. Throughout this process, we’ve always felt secure that in the USA our parental rights are guaranteed, which is very reassuring and for us, was more important than going through this process elsewhere, to possibly save money but where we may not have this same feeling of security and protection. 

Any final words for intended parents considering their family building options?

In Portugal where surrogacy is not legal, ‘international’ surrogacy was the only option for us when it came to family building. We want intended parents to know that they must be prepared for some disappointments and unexpected setbacks as no journey is perfect. 

Surrogacy is a long process and sometimes the stars are not going to align the way we wish they would. BUT every step forward is a huge achievement, and even though we are miles and miles apart from the ones and the places where the future of our family is growing, we could not be more grateful that we took this path to parenthood and our dreams of becoming parents will finally come true.

*Continue to Follow José and Renato’s journey on Instagram at @2future.dads.in.portugal*

If you have any questions about international surrogacy or your family building options, contact our UK & Europe Client Relations Consultant, Hilary at  hilary@extraconceptions.com.