卵子捐献者

不要让风险阻止您帮助他人。

在非凡的构想中,我们喜欢听到过去卵子捐赠者和代孕者的故事。 我们很高兴地介绍捐赠者经历的特殊故事,其中包括捐赠卵子的副作用之一,以及她如何不阻止捐赠者在以后的捐赠卵子周期中向其他家庭捐赠。

我在OHSS方面的经验,以及为什么之后要进行4个卵子捐赠周期。

任何希望捐卵的人都会读到可能的并发症,而卵巢过度刺激综合症(OHSS)就是最重要的方面。 我将在一分钟内为您提供有关OHSS的更多信息,但是让我告诉您,这不是一个有趣的经历。 第一次捐赠卵子后,我遇到了小魔鬼(OHSS),现在,我作为骄傲的5次卵子捐赠者正在与您交谈。 你们当中有些人可能会想:“如果真是那么糟糕,为什么还要再次捐赠?”我很高兴与您分享这个故事。

服用激素药物时,就像捐卵一样 卵巢过度刺激综合症 可能发生。 虽然不常见(占卵子捐献者的1-3%),但这是由于系统中的激素药物过多导致卵巢肿胀和腹部积水而引起的。 OHSS的症状是体重迅速增加,恶心,腹痛和腹胀(腹胀),腹泻和呼吸困难。 听起来不错吧? 捐卵后腹胀很常见,而OHSS则是另一回事。

我记得第一次接到电话时,一对夫妇对我作为卵子捐赠者感兴趣。 我很激动! 我要成为卵子捐献者的决定有很多方面,但是最重要的是,我只是想给患有不育症的人一个生孩子的机会。 我想如果我有能力但没有使用它,那为什么不帮助某人做到这一点呢? 我将在另一个人的生活中产生巨大的变化,而这确实是我的天职。

长话短说,我开始了我的第一笔捐款,一直到计划进行的两天前都被取消了。 真伤心 我觉得自己很失败。 我的身体对使用我的药物没有反应(我的卵没有生长)。 激素肆虐,思绪many绕,我不知道如何应对这一消息。 护士向我保证这确实发生了,这不是我的错,并且他们正在与这对夫妇核对一下是否想再次尝试。

几天后,我接到护士打来的电话,说他们决定再试一次。 我想尽一切可能帮助这对夫妇,所以我同意了。 他们让我制定了不同的用药计划,这次成功了! 取回完成后,取回了26个卵(数量很多),我改变了一个人的生活。 呜呜! 现在,恢复开始了。

第一天,我感到疲倦,有点酸痛和肿胀,但是还算不错。 随着时间的流逝,情况发生了变化。 我的胃太肿了,以至于有人在里面塞满了整个西瓜。 我不能站直,不能起床,不能呼吸不畅,每次移动姿势时疼痛都会散发出来……我感觉就像查理和巧克力工厂里的蓝莓女孩一样。 可怕。 我多次打电话给护士,恳求对这些症状寻求某种帮助,“有东西可以给我!”有人告诉我,我只需要等一等就可以了,但是这会消退的,但是,如果它是 那么不好 我可以去急诊室把它排干。 ?? 这些是我唯一的选择? 我只是个婴儿吗? 我不知道。 我真的要去急诊室吗? 当然不。 所以,我等了。

大约一个半星期以后,我度过了难关。 恢复状态又花了2-3天的时间,但是我到了那里。 再次,您可能想知道,“为什么您在那之后(或四次)又做了一次捐赠?!!”我要告诉您,说完一切之后,难道这是我经历过的最严重的痛苦吗? 靠近它。 它值得吗? 完全。 想想看:我给了一个家庭礼物。 我是比自己和我的生活更重要的一部分。 太神奇了。 我要说的是,我相信自己是因为经历了紧密的重复周期(停机时间为1个月)和可能的激素超负荷而经历了OHSS。 我还要说,正在运行这些周期的大多数生育医生是 我在他们的领域知识渊博,经验丰富,因此我会遵循所有指示并始终相信它们。 我再也没有经历过。 也许是a幸; 也许是背靠背的循环-谁知道! 但是,最终,我有所作为。 之后,我继续做出了4次改变。 现在,那些可能没有机会拥有梦想中的家人的人 可以拥有。 我帮了忙。 而且,这个世界上没有什么能让我后悔一秒钟的。

-骄傲的捐助者

我们只想对这真棒的生活改变表示感谢 女子 给有需要的家庭最大的礼物 如果您想与我们分享有关您的经历的故事,请发送电子邮件至Erica@extraconceptions.com。

/Guest Blog: Hyperstimulation & Why I Did 4 More Donation Cycles

Guest Blog: Hyperstimulation & Why I Did 4 More Donation Cycles

Egg Donor

Don’t let the risks deter you from helping others.

At Extraordinary Conceptions, we love to hear the stories of past egg donors and surrogates. We’re excited to introduce the special story of a donor’s experience with one of the side effects of egg donation and how she didn’t let it stop her from donating to other families through later egg donation cycles. 

My experience with OHSS and why I did 4 egg donation cycles after.

Anyone looking into egg donation will read about possible complications and Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome, or OHSS, is front and center. I will give you a little more information about OHSS in a minute, but let me tell you, it was not a fun experience. After my first egg donation, I had a run-in with the little devil (OHSS) and I am talking to you now as a proud 5 time egg donor. Some of you are probably thinking, “if it was that bad, why did you donate again?” I am happy to share that story with you.

When taking hormone medication, as you do in an egg donation, Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome can occur. While it is not common (1-3% of egg donors), it is caused by too much hormone medication in your system leading to swollen ovaries and fluid buildup in the abdomen. Symptoms of OHSS are rapid weight gain, nausea, abdominal pain and distention (bloating), diarrhea, and difficulty breathing. Sounds great, right? While bloating is common after donating your eggs, OHSS is a whole different ball game.

I remember when I first got the call that a couple was interested in me as their egg donor. I was thrilled! There were many aspects that went into my decision to become an egg donor, but above all, I just wanted to give someone struggling with infertility the chance to have a child. I figured if I have the ability but am not using it, then why not help someone that DREAMS of this?! I was going to make a big difference in the life of another and that is truly what tipped the scale for me.

Long story short, I started my first donation and got all the way until TWO DAYS before my procedure was scheduled and it was CANCELLED. It was so sad. I felt like a failure. My body just wasn’t responding (my eggs weren’t growing) to the medication they had me on. With hormones raging and many thoughts running through my head, I didn’t know how to react to the news. I was reassured by the nurse that this does happen, it was no fault of mine, and that they were checking with the couple to see if they wanted to try again.

A few days passed when I received a call from the nurse saying they decided to give it another go. I wanted to do everything I could to help this couple, so I agreed to it. They put me on a different medication plan and, this time, it was a success! The retrieval finished, 26 eggs were retrieved (which is a great number) and I changed someone’s life. WOO HOO! Now, the recovery begins.

The first day, I felt tired, a little sore and bloated, but it wasn’t too bad. As the hours went on, that changed. My stomach was so bloated I looked like someone shoved an entire watermelon in there. I couldn’t stand up straight, I couldn’t get out of bed without losing my breath, pain radiated down my right side every time I moved position… I felt like the blueberry girl in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. HORRIBLE. I called the nurse multiple times BEGGING for some kind of help with these symptoms, “THERE HAS TO BE SOMETHING YOU CAN GIVE ME!” I was told I just needed to wait it out, once I get my period it would subside – but, if it’s that bad I could go to the emergency room and have it drained. Huh? Those are my only options? Am I just being a baby? I don’t know. Do I really want to go to the emergency room? Definitely not. So, I waited.

About a week and a half later of hell, I got my period. It took about another 2-3 days to get back to normal… but, I got there. Again, you are probably wondering, “WHY did you do another donation after that (or four)?!” I’ll tell you that after all was said and done, was that the worst pain I have experienced? Close to it. Was it worth it? TOTALLY. Think about it: I gave someone the gift of a family. I was a part of something way bigger than myself and my life. It was magical. I will say that I believe I experienced OHSS due to the repeat of cycles in close timing (1 month downtime) and possible hormone overload. I will also say that most fertility doctors that are running these cycles are super knowledgeable and experienced in their field, so I follow all instructions and trust them through and through. I never experienced it again. Maybe it was a fluke; maybe it was the back to back cycle — who knows! But, at the end of the day, I made a difference. I continued to make a difference 4 times after that. Now, people who may not have had the chance to have their dream family can have it. I helped with that. And, there is nothing in this world that would make me regret even one second of it.

-Proud Donor

We’d just like to say Thank You to this awesome life changing woman who gave the greatest gift to families in need. If you have a story about your experience that you’d like to share with us, please email Erica@extraconceptions.com.