اتصال Doula-Surrogateلقد قلنا هذا مرات عديدة - بغض النظر عن الظروف ، فإن الأمر يتطلب قرية! يمكن أن يعني ذلك عشرات الأشياء ، اعتمادًا على الاحتياجات الفردية للعائلة. يقوم بعض الآباء ببناء أسرهم بمساعدة البويضة أو المتبرع بالحيوانات المنوية أو بديل. ينشئ البعض علاقات مع أزواج أو مربيات أو ممرضات ليلية ، بينما يجد البعض الآخر قيمة في الانضمام إلى مجموعات للآباء الجدد. تختار العديد من العائلات تضمين القابلة أو القابلة في رحلتهم. مرة أخرى ، يعتمد "القرويون" الذين تختارهم على احتياجاتك. قد يجد بعض الآباء أنهم يطلبون المساعدة من العديد من الأشخاص الذين ذكرناهم - وهذا شيء جميل! سيكبر أطفالك وهم يعلمون أن الكثير من الناس يحبونهم ويساعدونهم في تغذيتهم في الأيام الأولى من حياتهم. 

اليوم ، نود أن نتحدث عن يدين معينتين للمساعدة تشكلان جزءًا من حياة العديد من الآباء: البديل والدولة. Doulas هي رفقة مهنية للنساء الحوامل حيث يخضعن لتجربة الولادة. البدائل هم من النساء اللواتي يحملن رضيعًا لزوجين من الآباء المقصودين. على الرغم من أن هذين "القرويين" يلعب كل منهما أدوارًا مختلفة جدًا في عالم الإنجاب وبناء الأسرة ، إلا أن العمل مع كلاهما في وقت واحد يمكن أن يكون تجربة إيجابية للغاية لجميع المعنيين. 

صديق موثوق به

غالبًا ما يُعتقد أن الدورة هي نفس القابلة ، لكن هذا في الواقع ليس دقيقًا.  دولاس تلعب دورها الفريد. كدولة محترفة ، اشلي أخبرنا ، "هناك أحيانًا مفاهيم خاطئة حول ماهية الدولة." 

على الرغم من أن كل من الدلاحيات والقابلات يعملن في المجالات المجاورة ويؤدون بعض المهام المتداخلة ، فإن وظائفهن مختلفة وبالتالي تتطلب تدريبًا ومهارات مختلفة. 

هناك بعض الاختلافات الرئيسية بين الدلس والقابلات. وبالتحديد ، فإن القابلة قابلة للتدريب طبيًا حيث أن الغرض الرئيسي منها هو ولادة الطفل بأمان. والدولة ، من ناحية أخرى ، ليست طبيبة مهنية. وهي موجودة لدعم المرأة عاطفيًا ومرافقتها أثناء ولادتها طوال فترة الحمل والمخاض وفي الأيام التالية للولادة. وكما يقول آشلي ، "دولاس تدعم الأسرة. نحن ندعمهم جسديًا ، ندعمهم عاطفيًا ، كما ندعمهم بالمعلومات ".

الدعم للجميع

بالنسبة للوالدين المستهدفين الذين يعملون مع بديل ، قد يتساءلون عما إذا كانت الدورة لا تزال خيارًا. على الرغم من أن هذا الخيار شخصي بالطبع ، نود الإجابة بنعم مدوٍ! إنها فكرة رائعة لجلب الدولة على متن الطائرة إذا كان البديل جزءًا من رحلة الأبوة.

الآباء والأبناء المزمعون لديهم علاقة وثيقة للغاية وخاصة. ومع ذلك ، من المهم أن تتذكر أن البدائل غالبًا ما يمرون بتجربة عاطفية جدًا أثناء حمل طفلك - إنه حمل! على الرغم من أنك قد تقدم الدعم والصداقة إلى وكيلك ، إلا أن لديك الكثير من الأشياء التي تحدث في حياتك - فأنت تستعد لتكون والدًا. من الأهمية بمكان أن يكون لديك وكيل سيقدم لها الدعم وستكون لها أولوية. سوف يزيل أي ضغط منك ، خاصة بمجرد وصول طفلك - سوف تكون ممتلئًا بيديك! 

تحدثنا إلى الرائع تيفاني تروتمان، وهي داعية ومدافعة عن نفسها كانت بديلة. تجربتها البديلة ، على الرغم من إثرائها ونجاحها في نهاية المطاف ، كان لها بعض الظروف المخيفة للغاية:

"عندما تم تشخيصي بتسمم الحمل الحاد ومتلازمة هيلب في الأسبوع 32 ، تم إدخالي إلى المستشفى وسيتم تحفيزي. طار صديقي المفضل ، وهو أيضًا مولود ، من فلوريدا إلى نيو جيرسي لدعمي. كنت أم عزباء في ذلك الوقت ... أقسم والداي المقصودان ، وخاصة الأم ، على البقاء معي أثناء الولادة وبعدها ، لكنني أخبرتها أنني أريدها أن تكون حرة مع طفلها. كان وجود دولا وأفضل صديق لي بجانبي هو بالضبط ما احتاجه ".

استمرت تيفاني في تحديد الخوف الذي شعرت به عندما تحولت ولادتها إلى عملية قيصرية طارئة. 

كما قالت ، "أتذكر اللحظات التي كنت فيها وحدي هي الأكثر رعباً ، ولكن بعد ذلك أحضروها ، وشعرت بتحسن ... لم تترك جانبي أبدًا ، وتحدثت بالنيابة عني عندما لم أستطع ، ووثقت في حساباتها عن كل شيء حدث عندما كنت غير متماسك. أعلم أن والديّ المقصودين قد شعروا بالارتياح أيضًا لأنني كنت أتلقى الرعاية حتى يتمكنوا من الانضمام إلى أطفالهم في NICU ".

يد العون او يد المساعده

إذا كان بناء عائلتك يتطلب يد المساعدة من بديل أو متبرع بالبيض (أو إذا كنت ترغب في أن تصبح واحدًا من هؤلاء الملائكة بنفسك) ، فإن المفاهيم الاستثنائية هنا لإمدادك بالعديد من الأيدي المساعدة التي قد تحتاجها. لدينا مراكز مخصصة على كل من السواحل الأمريكية ، بالإضافة إلى موقع خاص بكندا في تورونتو. بغض النظر عن أي من مواقعنا التي تحتاج إليها ، لدينا فريق من الخبراء المتحمسين ومتعدد اللغات الذين سيوجهونك خلال هذه الرحلة. معنا ، لا يوجد شيء معقد في هذه العملية - سنحرص على أن تكون محميًا ، سواء كنت والدًا مقصودًا ، أو بديلًا ، أو متبرعًا بالبيض. 

إذا كنت ترغب في التحدث مع شخص من فريقنا ، فنحن نحب الإجابة على أي من أسئلتك. إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى إيريكا على marketing@extraconceptions.com، وسنحرص على التواصل معك في أقرب وقت ممكن.

The Doula-Surrogate ConnectionWe’ve said this many times— no matter what the circumstances may be, it takes a village! That can mean dozens of things, depending on the individual needs of a family. Some parents build their families with the help of an egg or sperm donor or a surrogate. Some create relationships with au pairs, nannies, or night nurses, while others find value in joining groups for new parents. Many families choose to include a doula or midwife in their journey. Again, the “villagers”  that you choose depend on your needs. Some parents may find that they enlist the help of many of the people we listed— and that’s a beautiful thing! Your children will grow up knowing that plenty of people love them and helped nourish them in the early days of their lives. 

Today, we’d like to speak about two specific helping hands that are a part of many parents’ lives: the surrogate and the doula. Doulas are professional companions to pregnant women as they undergo their childbirth experience. Surrogates are women who carry a baby for a pair of intended parents. Though these two “villagers” each play very different roles in the world of childbearing and family-building, working with both of them at once can be a very positive experience for everybody involved. 

A Trusted Friend

A doula is often thought of as being the same thing as a midwife, but that’s actually not accurate.  Doulas play their own unique role. As a professional doula, Ashley told us, “there are sometimes misconceptions about what a doula is.” 

Though both doulas and midwives work in adjacent fields and perform some overlapping tasks, their jobs are different and therefore require different training and skillsets. 

There are a few main differences between doulas and midwives. Namely, a midwife is medically trained as their main purpose is to deliver the baby safely. A doula, on the other hand, is not a medical professional; she is there to emotionally support and accompany the woman giving birth throughout both her pregnancy, labor and in those early postpartum days. As Ashley puts it, “Doulas support the family. We support them physically, we support them emotionally, and we also support them with information.”

Support For All

For intended parents working with a surrogate, they might wonder if a doula is still an option. Though that choice is, of course, personal, we’d like to answer with a resounding YES! It is a fantastic idea to bring doula on board if a surrogate is a part of your parenting journey.

Intended parents and surrogates have a very close and special bond. However, it is important to remember that surrogates often go through a very emotional experience while carrying your child— it’s a pregnancy! Though you may be giving support and friendship to your surrogate, you have plenty of things going on in your life— you’re preparing to be a parent. It’s very valuable for your surrogate to have a friend who will be supporting her and have her as a priority. It will take any pressure off of you, particularly once your baby arrives — you’re going to have your hands full! 

We spoke to the wonderful Tiffany Trotman, a doula and advocate who has been a surrogate herself. Her surrogate experience, though enriching and ultimately a success, had some very frightening circumstances:

“When I was diagnosed with severe Pre-eclampsia and HELLP Syndrome at 32 weeks, I was hospitalized and would be induced. My best friend, also a birth doula, flew from Florida to New Jersey to support me. I was a single mom at the time… My intended parents, especially the mom, vowed that she would stay with me during and after delivery, but I told her I wanted her to be free to be with her child.  Having my doula and best friend by my side was exactly what I needed.”

Tiffany went on to outline the fear she felt when her delivery turned into an emergency cesarean. 

As she said, “ I remember the moments I was alone being the scariest, but then they brought her in, and I felt better…She never left my side, spoke for me when I could not, and I trusted her accounts of everything that happened when I was incoherent.  I know my intended parents were also relieved that I was being taken care of so that they could join their child in the NICU.”

Helping Hands

If building your own family requires the helping hand of a surrogate or an egg donor (or if you would like to become one of those angels yourself,) Extraordinary Conceptions is here to lend you as many helping hands as you might need. We have dedicated centers on both US coasts, as well as a Canadian-specific location in Toronto. No matter which of our locations you need, we are staffed with a team of passionate and multilingual experts who will guide you through this journey. With us, there is nothing complicated about this process— we will make sure that you are protected, whether you’re an intended parent, a surrogate, or an egg donor. 

If you would like to speak with someone from our team, we’d love to answer any of your questions. Send an email to Erica at marketing@extraconceptions.com, and we’ll make sure to get in touch with you as soon as possible.