التنقل في رحلة الخصوبة الخاصة بك خلال COVID 19بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يخططون لعائلة ، يحسب حساب التيار COVID-19 الأزمة العالمية يمكن أن تكون ساحقة بشكل خاص. الأخبار تتحرك بسرعة كبيرة ، ونحن نستيقظ على حقائق ومعلومات جديدة كل يوم. كان هناك قدر لا بأس به من المعلومات المتضاربة من مصادر مختلفة حول الآثار التي قد يكون للفيروس أو قد لا يكون على الأمهات الحوامل وحملهن. قوانيـن كما تم وضعها ، الأمر الذي سيقيد أو يتوقف علاجات الخصوبة في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. بالطبع ، كان هذا أمرًا محزنًا للغاية لكل من النساء الحوامل والآباء المستهدفين الذين يخضعون لعمليات الخصوبة. 

كيف يؤثر COVID 19 على أولئك الذين يخضعون لعمليات التلقيح الصناعي أو الأرحام؟

بالنسبة للباحثين ، وأولئك الذين يخضعون لعمليات التلقيح الصناعي ، والآباء المستهدفين المرجوين ، كانت الاضطرابات المجتمعية تسبب الكثير من القلق والقلق والارتباك. في وقت النشر ، كانت الشواغل والتغييرات الأكثر إلحاحًا هي:

إرشادات ASRM الجديدة

في ضوء الوضع الحالي ، أصدرت ASRM ، أو الجمعية الأمريكية للطب الإنجابي ، مبادئ توجيهية وقيود جديدة لأولئك الذين يستخدمون الخصوبة الخدمات.

  1. سيتم تعليق جميع دورات علاج الخصوبة الجديدة. 
  2. على الرغم من أنها ليست إلزامية ، فمن المستحسن إلغاء أي عمليات نقل جنين معلقة.
  3. المرضى الذين يخضعون حاليًا لدورة الخصوبة ، أو أولئك الذين يحتاجون إليها "التحفيز العاجل والحفظ بالتبريد" ستستمر في تلقي الرعاية.
  4. تم تعليق جميع العمليات الجراحية الاختيارية وغير العاجلة وإجراءات التشخيص.
  5. يتم تشجيع خدمات الرعاية الصحية عن بعد على الاجتماعات الشخصية.

ومن المقرر مراجعة هذه الشروط يوم الإثنين 30 مارس 2020.

بالنسبة للعديد من الآباء المستهدفين ، هؤلاء الجدد القيود لقد جاءت كضربة مدمرة في وقت عصيب بالفعل. بالنسبة للكثيرين ، يعتبر علاج الخصوبة حساسًا جدًا للوقت. بالنسبة للآخرين ، يأتي هذا الإعلان بعد عملية مطولة من تناول الهرمونات والتبرع بالدم وإعداد أنفسهم عاطفياً وجسدياً للدورة. وقد أدى تعليق ذلك فجأة إلى إضافة مستويات جديدة من عدم اليقين والضيق إلى حياة هؤلاء الأشخاص.

بدأ بعض عمال ونشطاء الخصوبة في محاولة العمل من خلال هذه التطورات من خلال الإفراج عن أ عريضة للسماح لمرضى الخصوبة بالاستمرار في تلقي الرعاية إذا اختاروا ، حتى في هذه الأوقات العصيبة. 

على الرغم من أن الالتماس المذكور يقع في الولايات المتحدة ، إرشادات مماثلة تم تنفيذها في مكان آخر. أوصت CFAS ، أو الجمعية الكندية للخصوبة والذكورة ، باتجاهات مماثلة كما هو موضح في موقع الكتروني.

القيود المفروضة على السفر

في الأوقات العادية ، يسافر الكثير من الناس محليًا ودوليًا لإكمال رحلة الخصوبة. حاليا ، هناك غير مسبوق قيود على السفر من جميع الأنواع - معظم الرحلات الجوية متوقفة ، والحدود الدولية مغلقة ، والعديد من أشكال النقل العام مغلقة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لا يمكن حاليًا معالجة جواز سفر جديد - وهو أمر مطلوب حتى للقيادة ذهابًا وإيابًا بين الولايات المتحدة وكندا. 

إغلاق المحكمة

عندما يعمل الوالدان المستهدفان مع متبرع بديل و / أو متبرع بالبيض ، هناك محامون ومهنيون قانونيون معنيون بالعملية بأكملها. حاليا ، كثير المحاكم مغلقة، مما يجعل من الصعب على العائلات المضي قدمًا في بعض الجوانب القانونية لرحلتهم.

تفاصيل تسليم

في هذه الأوقات المخيفة والمتغيرة بسرعة ، تشعر العديد من النساء الحوامل بالقلق حيال سير الولادة. بالنسبة للوالدين والوالدين المستهدفين ، يمكن أن يكون هذا أمرًا مزعجًا بشكل خاص ، حيث أن قواعد الابتعاد الاجتماعي قد تخلق بعض المضاعفات.

خلال الأيام الأولى لما كان سيصبح إغلاقًا عالميًا ، أنجبت بريانا ، وهي واحدة من وكلاءنا ، طفلًا سليمًا. لقد كانت لطيفة بما يكفي لإخبارنا مباشرة عن تجربتها وما هي الإجراءات التي يمكن للآخرين في وضعها أن يفعلوها للاستعداد:

 

إحاطة موظفي الأمومة

 

من تجربة Briana ، من المهم أن يعرف موظفو المستشفى أنك بديل. 

"تأكد من أن المستشفى وجميع الممرضات - حتى ممرضة الأطفال - على دراية تامة بحقيقة أنك بديل. دعهم يعرفون من تريد أن يكون زوار موقعك. وأوضحت أن ولادتك ، رغم أنها ليست طفلك ، لا تزال ولادتك ويجب أن تكون مرتاحًا.

 

ضمان صحة الوالدين المقصود

 

بسبب العزل الذاتي وقواعد الحجر الصحي ، قد لا يتمكن بعض الآباء المستهدفين من حضور الولادة أو أخذ الطفل إلى المنزل على الفور. إذا كان هذا هو الحال ، فمن الضروري وضع خطة. توكيل قد يكون ضروريا.

 

رتب لرعاية الأطفال الخاصة بك ، إذا كان ذلك ممكنًا

 

نظرًا للوضع الحالي ، سيكون عدد زوار غرفة التسليم محدودًا - وفي بعض الحالات ، سيتم السماح لشريكك فقط بالتواجد. كما جميع البدائل بموجب القانون يجب أن يكون لديهم أطفالهم ، هذا يطرح السؤال عما إذا كان زوجك سيكون قادرًا على أن يكون بجانبك أثناء الولادة أم لا. 

أخبرتنا بريانا ، "انتهى بي الأمر إلى النوم ليلاً وحدي في المستشفى لأنهم لن يسمحوا لأحد غير زوجي بزيارتي. كان عليه أن يكون في المنزل مع الأطفال. لذا استعد عاطفيًا و / أو لرعاية الأطفال ، فهذا أمر ممكن ".

 

يسجل من داخل منطقة المرمى

 

في مثل هذا الوقت المتغير بسرعة ، من الضروري البقاء على اطلاع والالتزام بالمصادر الموثوقة. كما يشير بريانا ، "تتغير سياسات المستشفيات كل ساعة لأنها تحصل على معلومات وطلبات جديدة. اعلم أيضًا أنه لسوء الحظ لن يكون الجميع على نفس الصفحة ". يسجل من داخل منطقة المرمى حتى تعرف ما هو الوضع الحالي.

 

احترم القواعد

 

إذا كان الزائر المفضل لديك أو حتى والديك المستهدفين يظهرون أعراض الفيروس، يجب ألا ينضموا إليك مطلقًا في غرفة الولادة ، مهما كان الأمر. وأكدت بريانا ذلك قائلة: "إذا كان أي شخص يعاني من أعراض تتعلق بالفيروس ، فمن المحتمل ألا يُسمح له بالدخول - بغض النظر عن علاقته بالطفل."

 

البقاء صبورًا ورحيماً

 

قبل كل شيء ، تذكر أنه إذا كنت تعمل مع أي أخصائي رعاية صحية في الوقت الحالي ، فإنهم يتعرضون لقدر هائل من الضغط على عكس أي شيء مروا به من قبل. كما تقول بريانا ، "إنه وقت عصيب للجميع ، [خصوصًا] طاقم المستشفى ... لذا حاول أن تظل صبوراً."

ما هي الخيارات المتاحة حاليًا للوالدين المستهدفين؟

عيادات ووكالات الخصوبة مثل المفاهيم غير العادية على استعداد لمساعدة البدائل والمتبرعين بالبيض والآباء المستهدفين قدر الإمكان طوال هذه الأوقات المخيفة والسماح للعائلات بالمضي قدمًا قدر المستطاع:

  • لدينا خدمة كونسيرج عن بعد يمكنها مساعدة الآباء المستهدفين في العثور على خدمة مربية أو سيارة أو مساعدة سكن أو أي خدمات أخرى قد تكون مطلوبة حيث يسمح بهذه الخدمات.
  • نحن نمكن الناس من الخضوع لفحوصاتهم عن بعد والحصول على خدمات الطب عن بعد.
  • تبدأ الفرق القانونية الداخلية لدينا اتفاقياتها القانونية للمتبرعين بالبيض قبل الموافقة الطبية. إذا لم يمرر المتبرع ، لأي سبب من الأسباب ، تصريحه الطبي ، فقد وافق العديد من المحامين على التنازل عن الرسوم حتى المانح التالي لحماية الآباء المستهدفين.

نحن نعلم أن هذا وقت عصيب وغير مؤكد ، وقد تشعر بخيبة أمل وخوف. نود أن نطمئنك أن أحلامك لا تزال في متناول اليد ولا يوجد سبب لتأجيل تسجيلك لتصبح والدًا جديدًا أو متبرعًا أو بديلًا. ما زلنا نمضي قدمًا في مبارياتنا ونضع الأساس لأكبر عدد ممكن من العائلات. عندما يعيد العالم فتح أبوابه ، فإن الأساس الذي وضعناه سيسمح لنا باختيار الأشياء من جديد ومتابعة رحلتك.

إذا كانت لديك أي أسئلة ، يُرجى التواصل معنا فريق. نحن هنا للمساعدة!

 

مصادر:

https://www.cdc.gov/

https://www.cnn.com

https://www.asrm.org/

https://www.change.org

https://www.aljazeera.com

https://www.paulhastings.com/

https://www.lawdepot.com

https://www.who.int/

https://cfas.ca/

Navigating Your Fertility Journey during COVID 19For those planning a family, reckoning with the current COVID-19 global crisis can be particularly overwhelming. News is moving very fast, and we are waking up to new facts and information every day. There has been a fair amount of conflicting information from varying sources about the effects that the virus may or may not have on expectant mothers and their pregnancy. Rules have also been put into place, which will restrict or cease fertility treatments across the US. Of course, this has been quite distressing to both pregnant women and intended parents undergoing fertility processes. 

How Does COVID 19 Affect Those Undergoing IVF or Surrogacy?

For surrogates, those undergoing IVF, and hopeful intended parents, societal disruptions have been the cause of much concern, anxiety and confusion. At time of publication, the most pressing concerns and changes have been:

New ASRM Guidelines

In light of the current situation, the ASRM, or the American Society for Reproductive Medicine, released new guidelines and restrictions to those using fertility services.

  1. All NEW fertility treatment cycles are to be suspended. 
  2. Though it is not mandatory, it is strongly urged to cancel any pending embryo transfers.
  3. Patients who are currently undergoing a fertility cycle, or those in need of “urgent stimulation and cryopreservation will continue to receive care.
  4. All elective and non-urgent surgeries and diagnostic procedures have been suspended.
  5. Telehealth services are encouraged over in-person meetings.

These conditions are set to be reviewed on Monday, the 30th of March, 2020.

For many intended parents, these new restrictions have come as a devastating blow in an already fraught time. For many, fertility treatment is very time-sensitive. For others, this announcement comes after a lengthy process of taking hormones, giving blood, and preparing themselves emotionally and physically for the cycle. To have that suddenly suspended has added new levels of uncertainty and distress to these people’s lives.

Some fertility workers and activists have begun to try to work through these developments by releasing a petition to allow for fertility patients to continue to receive care if they choose, even during these troubling times. 

Though the aforementioned petition is US-based, similar guidelines have been implemented elsewhere. CFAS, or the Canadian Fertility & Andrology Society, has recommended similar directions as explained on their website.

Travel Restrictions

In normal times, many people travel both domestically and internationally in order to complete their fertility journey. Currently, there are unprecedented restrictions on travel of all kinds— most flights are grounded, international borders are sealed, and many forms of public transport have shut down. Additionally, it is currently not possible to process a new passport— something which is needed even to drive back and forth between the US and Canada. 

Court Closures

When intended parents work with a surrogate and/or egg donor, there are attorneys and legal professionals involved in the entire process. Currently, many courts are closed, making it difficult for families to proceed with some of the legal aspects of their journey.

Delivery Details

In these frightening and rapidly changing times, many pregnant women are anxious about how their delivery will go. For surrogates and intended parents, this can be especially distressing, as the rules of social distancing could create some complications.

During the early days of what was to become a global shutdown, Briana, one of our own surrogates, gave birth to a healthy baby. She was kind enough to tell us a bit firsthand about her experience and what measures others in her position can do to prepare:

 

Brief the Maternity Staff

 

From Briana’s experience, it’s important that your hospital staff knows that you are a surrogate. 

“Make sure the hospital and all of the nurses – even the baby nurse – are fully aware of the fact that you’re a surrogate. Let them know who you want your visitors to be. Your delivery, while it’s not your baby, is still YOUR delivery and you need to be comfortable,” she explained.

 

Ensure Health of Intended Parents

 

Due to self-isolation and quarantine rules, some intended parents may not be able to attend the birth or immediately take the baby home. If this is the case, it’s crucial for a plan to be made. A Power of Attorney may be necessary.

 

Arrange for your Own Childcare, If Possible

 

Given the current situation, your delivery room visitors will be limited— and in some cases, only your partner will be allowed to be present. As all surrogates by law must have their own children, this raises the question of whether or not your spouse will be able to be by your side during delivery. 

Briana told us, “I ended up having to sleep the night alone in the hospital because they wouldn’t allow anyone but my husband to visit me. He had to be home with the kids. So prepare emotionally and/or for childcare that that is a possibility.”

 

Stay in the Loop

 

In such a rapidly changing time, it’s crucial to stay informed and to stick to trusted sources.  As Briana points out, “The hospitals’ policies are changing hourly as they get new info and orders. Also know that not everyone will be on the same page, unfortunately.” Stay in the loop so that you know what the present situation is.

 

Respect the Rules

 

If your preferred visitor or even your intended parents are showing symptoms of the virus, they should absolutely not be joining you in the delivery room, no matter what. Briana confirmed this, saying, “If anyone is experiencing symptoms related to the virus, chances are they won’t be allowed in—regardless of their relationship to the baby.”

 

Remain Patient and Compassionate

 

Above all, remember that, if you are working with any healthcare professional right now, they are under an enormous amount of pressure unlike anything they’ve ever experienced before. As Briana says, “It’s a hard time for everyone, [especially] hospital staff…so try to stay patient.”

What Options are Currently Available to Intended Parents?

Fertility clinics and agencies like Extraordinary Conceptions are prepared to help surrogates, egg donors, and intended parents as much as possible throughout these frightening times and allowing families to move forward as much as they can remotely:

  • We have a remote concierge service that can help intended parents find a nanny service, car, accommodation help, or any other services that may be needed where those services are permitted.
  • We are enabling people to undergo their screenings remotely and access telemedicine services.
  • Our in-house legal teams are commencing their legal agreements for egg donors prior to medical clearance. If, for any reason, the donor does not pass her medical clearance, many lawyers have agreed to waive fees until the next donor to protect intended parents.

We know this is a stressful and uncertain time, and you may be feeling disappointed and scared. We’d like to reassure you that your dreams are still very much in reach and that there is no reason to postpone your registration to become a new parent, donor, or surrogate. We are still going forward with our matches and laying the groundwork for as many families as possible. When the world reopens its doors, the groundwork we’ve laid will allow us to pick things back up and continue your journey.

If you have any questions, please reach out to our team. We’re here to help!

 

Sources:

https://www.cdc.gov/

https://www.cnn.com

https://www.asrm.org/

https://www.change.org

https://www.aljazeera.com

https://www.paulhastings.com/

https://www.lawdepot.com

https://www.who.int/

https://cfas.ca/