在COVID 19期间浏览生育之旅对于那些计划家庭的人来说, COVID-19全球危机 可能特别令人不知所措。 新闻发展非常迅速,我们每天都在唤醒新的事实和信息。 来自不同来源的大量关于该病毒可能对孕妇或孕妇的影响的相互矛盾的信息。 规则 还已经到位,这将限制或停止全美国的生育治疗。 当然,这对正在怀孕的孕妇和打算生育的父母都非常困扰。

COVID 19如何影响正在接受试管婴儿或代孕的人?

对于代孕,正在接受试管婴儿的人以及有希望的父母而言,社会混乱已成为引起人们极大关注,焦虑和困惑的原因。 在发布时,最紧迫的关注和变化是:

新ASRM准则

鉴于目前的情况,美国生殖医学学会或美国生殖医学学会发布了新的指南和针对使用生育力者的限制 服务.

  1. 所有新的生育治疗周期都将被暂停。
  2. 尽管这不是强制性的,但强烈建议取消任何未完成的胚胎移植。
  3. 当前正在经历生育周期的患者或需要 “紧急刺激和冷冻保存= 将继续得到护理。
  4. 所有选修和非紧急手术和诊断程序均已暂停。
  5. 通过面对面的会议鼓励远程医疗服务。

这些条件将于30年2020月XNUMX日星期一进行审查。

对于许多目标父母来说,这些新 限制 在一个已经紧张的时代里,这是毁灭性的打击。 对于许多人来说,生育治疗非常敏感。 对于其他人来说,这一宣布是在经过漫长的摄取激素,献血以及为周期做好情绪和身体准备的过程之后作出的。 突然中止这种行为,给这些人的生活增加了新的不确定性和痛苦。

一些生育工人和激进主义者已经开始尝试通过释放 请愿 即使在这些令人不安的时期内,如果有生育能力的患者也可以继续接受护理。

尽管上述请愿书是基于美国的, 类似的准则 已在其他地方实施。 CFAS或加拿大生育与男科学协会(Canadian Fertility&Andrology Society)已建议了类似的指导,具体说明见 网站.

旅行限制

在平时,许多人都在国内和国际上旅行以完成生育之旅。 当前,有前所未有的 旅行限制 各种各样-大多数航班都是停飞的,国际边界​​是封闭的,许多形式的公共交通工具已经关闭。 此外,当前无法处理新护照-甚至在美国和加拿大之间来回行驶都需要这样做。

法院关闭

当有意的父母与代孕人和/或卵子捐赠者一起工作时,整个过程中都会有律师和法律专业人士参与。 目前,许多 法院 已关闭 使家庭难以继续其旅程中的某些法律方面。

交货细节

在这些令人恐惧和瞬息万变的时代,许多孕妇都对分娩的方式感到担忧。 对于代孕者和打算成为父母的父母来说,这尤其令人不安,因为社会疏远的规则可能会带来一些麻烦。

在全球停摆的初期,我们自己的代理人之一Briana生了一个健康的婴儿。 她很友好,可以直接告诉我们她的经历以及她所处位置的其他人可以采取哪些措施来做准备:

向产妇简介

根据Briana的经验,重要的是您的医院工作人员必须知道您是代理人。

“请确保医院和所有护士,甚至是婴儿护士,都充分意识到您是代理人这一事实。 让他们知道您希望您的访客成为谁。 她说:“虽然不是您的孩子,但您的分娩仍然是您的分娩,您需要保持舒适。”

确保目标父母的健康

由于自我隔离和检疫规定,一些预定的父母可能无法参加分娩或立即将婴儿带回家。 在这种情况下,制定计划至关重要。 委托书 可能是必要的。

如果可能,安排自己的托儿服务

在目前的情况下,您的产房访客将受到限制-在某些情况下,只允许您的伴侣在场。 由于所有法律都代孕 必须有自己的孩子 这就提出了一个问题,即您的配偶在分娩过程中是否能够在您身边。

Briana告诉我们:“我最终不得不独自在医院过夜,因为除了我丈夫,他们不允许任何人去看望我。 他必须和孩子们在一起。 因此,有可能在情绪上和/或为儿童保育做准备。”

留在循环中

在瞬息万变的时间里,至关重要的是保持消息灵通并坚持受信任的消息来源。 正如Briana所指出的那样:“医院的政策每小时更新一次,因为它们会获得新的信息和订单。 还要知道,不幸的是,并非所有人都会在同一页面上。” 留在循环中 让您知道目前的状况。

遵守规则

如果您的首选访客或什至您预定的父母正在展示 病毒症状,无论如何,他们绝对不应该加入您的分娩室。 Briana证实了这一点,并说:“如果有人遇到与该病毒有关的症状,无论他们与婴儿的关系如何,都将不允许他们进入。”

保持耐心和同情心

最重要的是,请记住,如果您现在与任何医疗保健专业人员一起工作,他们将承受前所未有的巨大压力。 正如Briana所说:“每个人,尤其是医院工作人员,都很难受……所以要保持耐心。”

有意向的父母目前有哪些选择?

生育诊所和诸如非凡构想的机构准备在这些令人恐惧的时期内尽可能地帮助代孕者,卵子捐献者和预定的父母,并允许家庭尽可能地向前迈进:

  • 我们提供远程礼宾服务,可以帮助有意的父母找到保姆服务,汽车,住宿帮助或其他可能需要的服务 那些服务被允许的地方.
  • 我们使人们可以远程进行检查并访问远程医疗服务。
  • 我们的内部法律团队会在进行医疗许可之前开始与卵子捐赠者达成法律协议。 如果出于任何原因,捐献者没有通过她的医疗证明,那么许多律师已同意免收费用,直到下一位捐献者保护预期的父母为止。

我们知道这是一个充满压力和不确定性的时刻,您可能会感到失望和恐惧。 我们想向您保证,您的梦想仍然遥遥无期,没有理由推迟注册成为新的父母,捐助者或代理人。 我们仍将继续进行比赛,并为尽可能多的家庭打下基础。 当世界重新开放之时,我们奠定的基础将使我们能够重新整理并继续您的旅程。

如有任何疑问,请与我们联系 球队。 我们在这里为您提供帮助!

来源:

https://www.cdc.gov/

https://www.cnn.com

https://www.asrm.org/

https://www.change.org

https://www.aljazeera.com

https://www.paulhastings.com/

https://www.lawdepot.com

https://www.who.int/

https://cfas.ca/

Navigating Your Fertility Journey during COVID 19For those planning a family, reckoning with the current COVID-19 global crisis can be particularly overwhelming. News is moving very fast, and we are waking up to new facts and information every day. There has been a fair amount of conflicting information from varying sources about the effects that the virus may or may not have on expectant mothers and their pregnancy. Rules have also been put into place, which will restrict or cease fertility treatments across the US. Of course, this has been quite distressing to both pregnant women and intended parents undergoing fertility processes. 

How Does COVID 19 Affect Those Undergoing IVF or Surrogacy?

For surrogates, those undergoing IVF, and hopeful intended parents, societal disruptions have been the cause of much concern, anxiety and confusion. At time of publication, the most pressing concerns and changes have been:

New ASRM Guidelines

In light of the current situation, the ASRM, or the American Society for Reproductive Medicine, released new guidelines and restrictions to those using fertility services.

  1. All NEW fertility treatment cycles are to be suspended. 
  2. Though it is not mandatory, it is strongly urged to cancel any pending embryo transfers.
  3. Patients who are currently undergoing a fertility cycle, or those in need of “urgent stimulation and cryopreservation will continue to receive care.
  4. All elective and non-urgent surgeries and diagnostic procedures have been suspended.
  5. Telehealth services are encouraged over in-person meetings.

These conditions are set to be reviewed on Monday, the 30th of March, 2020.

For many intended parents, these new restrictions have come as a devastating blow in an already fraught time. For many, fertility treatment is very time-sensitive. For others, this announcement comes after a lengthy process of taking hormones, giving blood, and preparing themselves emotionally and physically for the cycle. To have that suddenly suspended has added new levels of uncertainty and distress to these people’s lives.

Some fertility workers and activists have begun to try to work through these developments by releasing a petition to allow for fertility patients to continue to receive care if they choose, even during these troubling times. 

Though the aforementioned petition is US-based, similar guidelines have been implemented elsewhere. CFAS, or the Canadian Fertility & Andrology Society, has recommended similar directions as explained on their website.

Travel Restrictions

In normal times, many people travel both domestically and internationally in order to complete their fertility journey. Currently, there are unprecedented restrictions on travel of all kinds— most flights are grounded, international borders are sealed, and many forms of public transport have shut down. Additionally, it is currently not possible to process a new passport— something which is needed even to drive back and forth between the US and Canada. 

Court Closures

When intended parents work with a surrogate and/or egg donor, there are attorneys and legal professionals involved in the entire process. Currently, many courts are closed, making it difficult for families to proceed with some of the legal aspects of their journey.

Delivery Details

In these frightening and rapidly changing times, many pregnant women are anxious about how their delivery will go. For surrogates and intended parents, this can be especially distressing, as the rules of social distancing could create some complications.

During the early days of what was to become a global shutdown, Briana, one of our own surrogates, gave birth to a healthy baby. She was kind enough to tell us a bit firsthand about her experience and what measures others in her position can do to prepare:

 

Brief the Maternity Staff

 

From Briana’s experience, it’s important that your hospital staff knows that you are a surrogate. 

“Make sure the hospital and all of the nurses – even the baby nurse – are fully aware of the fact that you’re a surrogate. Let them know who you want your visitors to be. Your delivery, while it’s not your baby, is still YOUR delivery and you need to be comfortable,” she explained.

 

Ensure Health of Intended Parents

 

Due to self-isolation and quarantine rules, some intended parents may not be able to attend the birth or immediately take the baby home. If this is the case, it’s crucial for a plan to be made. A Power of Attorney may be necessary.

 

Arrange for your Own Childcare, If Possible

 

Given the current situation, your delivery room visitors will be limited— and in some cases, only your partner will be allowed to be present. As all surrogates by law must have their own children, this raises the question of whether or not your spouse will be able to be by your side during delivery. 

Briana told us, “I ended up having to sleep the night alone in the hospital because they wouldn’t allow anyone but my husband to visit me. He had to be home with the kids. So prepare emotionally and/or for childcare that that is a possibility.”

 

Stay in the Loop

 

In such a rapidly changing time, it’s crucial to stay informed and to stick to trusted sources.  As Briana points out, “The hospitals’ policies are changing hourly as they get new info and orders. Also know that not everyone will be on the same page, unfortunately.” Stay in the loop so that you know what the present situation is.

 

Respect the Rules

 

If your preferred visitor or even your intended parents are showing symptoms of the virus, they should absolutely not be joining you in the delivery room, no matter what. Briana confirmed this, saying, “If anyone is experiencing symptoms related to the virus, chances are they won’t be allowed in—regardless of their relationship to the baby.”

 

Remain Patient and Compassionate

 

Above all, remember that, if you are working with any healthcare professional right now, they are under an enormous amount of pressure unlike anything they’ve ever experienced before. As Briana says, “It’s a hard time for everyone, [especially] hospital staff…so try to stay patient.”

What Options are Currently Available to Intended Parents?

Fertility clinics and agencies like Extraordinary Conceptions are prepared to help surrogates, egg donors, and intended parents as much as possible throughout these frightening times and allowing families to move forward as much as they can remotely:

  • We have a remote concierge service that can help intended parents find a nanny service, car, accommodation help, or any other services that may be needed where those services are permitted.
  • We are enabling people to undergo their screenings remotely and access telemedicine services.
  • Our in-house legal teams are commencing their legal agreements for egg donors prior to medical clearance. If, for any reason, the donor does not pass her medical clearance, many lawyers have agreed to waive fees until the next donor to protect intended parents.

We know this is a stressful and uncertain time, and you may be feeling disappointed and scared. We’d like to reassure you that your dreams are still very much in reach and that there is no reason to postpone your registration to become a new parent, donor, or surrogate. We are still going forward with our matches and laying the groundwork for as many families as possible. When the world reopens its doors, the groundwork we’ve laid will allow us to pick things back up and continue your journey.

If you have any questions, please reach out to our team. We’re here to help!

 

Sources:

https://www.cdc.gov/

https://www.cnn.com

https://www.asrm.org/

https://www.change.org

https://www.aljazeera.com

https://www.paulhastings.com/

https://www.lawdepot.com

https://www.who.int/

https://cfas.ca/