为什么40岁以上的女性可能需要捐卵者随着年龄的增长,怀孕或生育可能会有些困难,这已经不是什么秘密了。 即使是35至40岁的女性, 5%怀孕的机会 在任何给定的周期。 尽管年龄对生育的影响广泛存在,但许多妇女和夫妇仍然不愿谈论自己的受孕观念。 但是,最近,几位知名人士对代孕妈妈的使用使有关生育治疗和第三方生殖的讨论更加公开。

关于代孕和卵子捐赠存在很多问题,包括两种程序之间的区别以及为什么有人可能选择其中一种。 许多人惊讶地发现,即使某些35岁以上的女性可能需要使用卵子捐献者,她们仍然能够进行妊娠。 以下是成功受精所需素质的示例,以及年龄如何影响女性受孕的容易程度。

鸡蛋质量和年龄

为了怀孕,女性需要同时拥有健康的卵子和健康的子宫。 随着年龄的增长,荷尔蒙会发生变化,并且周期会越来越不规则,直到它们完全停止为止,这一过程称为更年期。 在这段时间里,女性受孕变得越来越困难,这主要是由于鸡蛋质量的变化。

一个女人出生时已经在卵巢中产卵。 这个数字在她的一生中将不断下降,直到她达到更年期并且不再有卵。 重要的是要意识到,随着年龄的增长,她的卵和卵中的DNA也会变老。

鸡蛋应具有23条染色体,每种染色体之一。 一个健康的精子也将具有23条染色体,当与卵子结合时,将形成一个具有46条染色体(人类中典型的染色体数目)的胚胎。

鸡蛋质量较低会使繁殖期间发生的一些复杂反应中出现问题的可能性更大。 婴儿发生流产,不育甚至某些遗传或染色体疾病的可能性更高。 例如,如果第21号染色体无法在卵中正确分离,则它可能最终带有两个染色体副本,而不是一个。 如果卵子受精,婴儿将患有唐氏综合症。

鸡蛋质量下降的风险是许多老年妇女需要或选择使用卵子捐赠者的原因。 供体卵可以帮助提高妊娠率并降低流产或染色体疾病的风险。

衰老与子宫

虽然女性的子宫也受到与更年期有关的荷尔蒙变化的影响,但这种影响并不像鸡蛋那样明显。 实际上,服用激素雌激素和孕激素补充剂可以帮助许多35岁以上的妇女,并为子宫做好怀孕准备。

怀孕了

幸运的是,生殖技术为年长的妇女准备好开始家庭生活提供了其他选择。 捐卵是一种机会,可以帮助老年妇女绕开衰老过程中发生的染色体问题。

最好是从20岁以下的年轻女子那里拿到一个鸡蛋,大大增加了受孕的机会。 在此过程中,这名年轻女子经历了试管婴儿的周期,准备了自己的卵以进行取回和捐赠。 然后在实验室中将卵与雄性伴侣或精子供体的精子一起受精。 然后将产生的有生命的胚胎转移到进行妊娠的任何人中。 如果该人是目标母亲,则需要服用激素l 在胚胎移植前数周和数月后直至数月内使用药物治疗,以促进子宫内有利于植入和胚胎生长的环境。

越来越受欢迎的选择

辅助生殖技术学会仅在5,800年,美国就完成了3,100多个新鲜的供体卵循环和2017个冷冻的供体卵循环。 您甚至可能认识某个经过此过程的人。 此外,您知道那些四十多岁甚至五十多岁怀孕的名人吗? 他们也很有可能也使用了卵子捐献者。

决定是否使用代理

您的医生应就您是否能够怀孕提供指导。 他们将进行诊断测试,并可能会让您找专家来检查您的整体健康状况。 还将对您的子宫进行检查,以确保没有可以防止怀孕的肌瘤或息肉。 一旦获得所有结果,医生将与您坐下来,并帮助您确定最佳的治疗方案,包括是否需要使用卵子捐赠者或代孕者。

如果您有兴趣了解有关卵子捐赠过程的更多信息,以及它是否适合您,请与我们的一位协调员联系,或者 寄存器 今天在线!

 

来源:

年龄和生育能力。 (nd)。 从...获得 https://www.reproductivefacts.org/news-and-publications/patient-fact-sheets-and-booklets/documents/fact-sheets-and-info-booklets/age-and-fertility/

捐卵。 (nd)。 从...获得 http://www.infertile.com/egg-donation-gestational-surrogacy/

了解事实。 (nd)。 从...获得 https://resolve.org/infertility-101/what-is-infertility/fast-facts/

杰西卡(Ness)的纳特森(Knutson)和杰西卡(Jessica)的麦克劳克林(McLaughlin)。 (nd)。 衰老对女性生殖系统的影响。 从...获得 https://www.merckmanuals.com/home/women-s-health-issues/biology-of-the-female-reproductive-system/effects-of-aging-on-the-female-reproductive-system

国家摘要报告。 (2017)。 从...获得 https://www.sartcorsonline.com/rptcsr_publicmultyear.aspx#donor-fresh-egg

纳尔逊(纳尔逊州),特尔弗(Telfer),EE和安德森(Anderson)(2013)。 卵巢和子宫衰老:新的生物学见解。 人类生殖更新,19(1),67-83。 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3508627/

/Why Women Over 40 May Need the Help of an Egg Donor

Why Women Over 40 May Need the Help of an Egg Donor

 

It’s no secret that as women age, they may have some difficulty getting pregnant or having a baby. Even as young as age 35 to 40, a woman only has a 5% chance of getting pregnant in any given cycle. Despite the fact that the effect of age on fertility is widespread, many women and couples still hesitate to talk about their struggles conceiving. Recently, however, the use of surrogate moms by several high-profile celebrities has brought the discussion of fertility treatment and third-party reproduction further into the open.

There are a lot of questions about surrogacy and egg donation, including the difference between the two procedures and why someone might choose one or the other. Many people are surprised to learn that even though some women over the age of 35 may need to use an egg donor, they are still able to carry their pregnancy. Below are examples of the qualities needed for successful fertilization and how age might affect how easily a woman can conceive.

Egg quality and age

In order to get pregnant, a woman needs to have both healthy eggs and a healthy uterus. As she gets older, her hormones will shift and her periods will become more and more irregular until they stop completely — a process known as menopause. During that time, it becomes increasingly difficult for a woman to conceive, primarily because of changes in the quality of her eggs.

A woman is born with all of her eggs already in her ovaries. That number will decline over the course of her life until she reaches menopause and no eggs are remaining. It’s important to realize that as she ages, so do her eggs and the DNA inside them.

An egg should have 23 chromosomes, one of each different type. A healthy sperm will also have 23 chromosomes, which when combined with an egg forms an embryo with 46 chromosomes (the typical number of chromosomes in humans).

Having lower egg quality makes it much more likely for issues to occur during some of the complex reactions that take place during reproduction. There is a higher possibility for miscarriages, infertility or even some genetic or chromosomal disorders in the baby. For example, if chromosome 21 doesn’t separate properly in an egg, it may end up with two copies of the chromosome instead of one. If that egg is fertilized, the baby will have a condition known as Down syndrome.

The risk of declining egg quality is why many older women will need, or elect to use, an egg donor. A donor egg can help to increase the pregnancy rate and decrease the risk of miscarriage or chromosomal disorders.

Aging and the uterus

While a woman’s uterus is also affected by the hormonal changes associated with menopause, the effect is not as significant as it is with her eggs. In fact, taking hormonal estrogen and progesterone supplements can help many women 35 years of age and over prepare their uterus for pregnancy.

Getting pregnant

Luckily, reproductive technologies have provided alternative options for an older woman to get pregnant when she is ready to start her family. Egg donation is one such opportunity that helps older women bypass the chromosomal issues that occur during aging.

Using an egg from a younger woman, ideally in her 20’s, greatly increases the chance for conception. In this process, the young woman goes through the IVF cycle to prepare her eggs for retrieval and donation. The eggs are then fertilized in the lab with sperm from the male partner or a sperm donor. The viable embryos produced are then transferred into whoever will carry the pregnancy. If that person is the Intended Mother, she’ll need to take hormonal medications for several weeks before and up to a few months after the embryo transfer to promote a positive environment in the uterus for implantation and embryonic growth.

Increasingly popular option

According to the Society of Assisted Reproductive Technologies, over 5,800 fresh and 3,100 frozen donor egg cycles were performed in the United States in 2017 alone. You may even know someone who has gone through this process. In addition, you know those celebrities who get pregnant well into their forties or even fifties? There is a good chance they may have used an egg donor, too.

Deciding whether to use a surrogate

Your doctor should provide guidance on whether you are able to carry a pregnancy. They’ll run diagnostic testing and may have you see a specialist to look at your overall health status. Testing will also be done on your uterus to make sure there are no fibroids or polyps that can prevent a pregnancy. Once all the results are in, the doctor will sit down with you and help you decide the best course of action, including whether the use of an egg donor or surrogate is necessary.

If you are interested in learning more about the egg donation process and whether it may be right for you, get in touch with one of our coordinators or register online today!

 

Sources:

Age and fertility. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.reproductivefacts.org/news-and-publications/patient-fact-sheets-and-booklets/documents/fact-sheets-and-info-booklets/age-and-fertility/

Egg donation. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.infertile.com/egg-donation-gestational-surrogacy/

Get the facts. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://resolve.org/infertility-101/what-is-infertility/fast-facts/

Knutson, Jennifer and McLaughlin, Jessica. (n.d.). Effects of aging on the female reproductive system. Retrieved from https://www.merckmanuals.com/home/women-s-health-issues/biology-of-the-female-reproductive-system/effects-of-aging-on-the-female-reproductive-system

National summary report. (2017). Retrieved from https://www.sartcorsonline.com/rptcsr_publicmultyear.aspx#donor-fresh-egg

Nelson, S. M., Telfer, E. E., & Anderson, R. A. (2013). The ageing ovary and uterus: new biological insights. Human Reproduction Update, 19(1), 67–83. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3508627/

By | 2018-07-03T13:25:30+00:00 July 3rd, 2018|Egg Donation, Surrogate|0 Comments