加拿大与美国的代孕无论您是居住在加拿大,还是考虑进行国际妊娠代孕或卵子/精子捐赠,您都可能在考虑国际妊娠代孕。 与美国相比,加拿大是不孕症治疗的一种可能选择。 但是,法律可能会有些混乱,导致许多人自问:“代孕在加拿大合法吗?”因此,了解有关治疗的法律很重要。

不用担心 我们已经为您完成了研究! 如果您对在加拿大寻求不孕治疗有疑问,请继续阅读以获取有关加拿大代孕法律以及期望的更多信息。

代孕在加拿大合法吗?

情况很复杂。 在某些情况下,代孕是合法的,但流程与 美国代孕。 尽管像美国一样(各省之间可能有所不同),加拿大的代孕代孕主要是在联邦一级进行监管,但在致力于在那里的周期之前,咨询专门研究加拿大生育法的加拿大律师非常重要。 。

加拿大有哪些代孕法律?

加拿大的《辅助人类生殖法》(AHRA)于2004年通过,是管理代孕的主要法律。 加拿大对代孕,卵子或精子捐赠的方式有非常严格的限制。 法律规定包括:

  • 代孕不能是有偿协议,这意味着有意的父母不能付钱给妇女担任妊娠代孕。
  • 但是,无私的代孕权是合法的,在这种情况下,女性同意无偿代孕(可以自付费用)。
  • 也不会因向夫妇介绍潜在的代理人而向代理商,律师或第三方付款。

还有其他与卵子和精子捐赠有关的限制,具体取决于目标父母的医疗状况。 在加拿大买卖鸡蛋或精子是违法的; 所有捐赠必须是无私的。

从代表捐赠者行事的人那里购买卵子或精子也是违法的。 某些诊所可以依其经营银行的方式合法地充当冷冻卵库。

不遵守AHRA可能会造成非常严重的后果。 根据法律,违反AHRA的人将面临最高500,000美元的罚款和10年监禁。

在加拿大,代孕有什么好处?

在加拿大,进行代孕周期有一些非常明显的好处。 主要优势是成本,与美国相比,单车的成本要便宜得多。 在美国,一个周期的费用很容易超过100,000美元,尤其是在您考虑了IVF周期,妊娠保健费用以及向管理该周期的代理人和其他专业人员收取的费用之后。

在加拿大,一个周期可能只是此费用的一小部分,因为代孕妈妈不会获得超出报销费用的费用。 此外,在某些情况下,政府医疗保健或保险可能会支付一些与健康相关的费用。 与具有加拿大代孕知识和经验的代理机构合作非常重要,这样他们可以帮助您确定在您的特定情况下这是否是一种选择。

除了减少周期成本外,其他相关成本(例如旅行,医疗保险和药物)也远低于美国。

另一个好处是,在加拿大出生的所有婴儿在出生时均被授予加拿大国籍。 这意味着父母可以使用婴儿的加拿大护照轻松,迅速地回家。

最后,由于代孕不能在经济上得到补偿,因此您可以放心,您决定与之共事的女性确实只有最好的意图。 尽管很少有代理人只是“为了钱”,但与没有得到补偿的人一起工作消除了可能存在的任何疑问。

在加拿大,代孕有哪些风险?

尽管收益是巨大的,但在加拿大进行代孕周期方面存在一些潜在风险。 首先,由于代孕必须是无偿的,因此很难找到一个可以与之共事的人,尽管非凡的构想希望能够在3-6个月内与他们的客户相匹配。

此外,加拿大的代孕法律要求一对夫妇使用 代办育儿令 婴儿出生后。 在婴儿出生之前不可能获得出生前的命令。 在大多数情况下,可以迅速而毫不费力地获得这个出生后的订单。 通常只需要几个星期,具体取决于省。 没有可能没有预期的父母可以退出安排的产前命令,或者代孕人可以决定她不想放弃监护权的风险。

但是,尽管看上去很恐怖,但重要的是要认识到,人们相信大多数法院都会坚持并兑现已签署合同的意图,尤其是在DNA检测证明婴儿与她没有生物学联系的情况下。 这也从未发生过,因此可能性很小。 根据生殖律师Sherry Levitan的说法,

每个省都有自己的监管方案。 在加拿大,我们曾发生过几次纠纷,即使在传统上是她的代理人的情况下,代理人也从未赢得过孩子的监护权!

前提始终是生母拥有权利,但是该前提可以被立法,合同法或普通法推翻。

这让打算在加拿大代孕的父母放心! 底线

代孕在加拿大合法吗? 是的,尽管加拿大的代孕法律与美国的代孕法律有所不同。 如果您正在考虑在加拿大进行代孕,那么必须咨询专门从事代孕的律师。 加拿大有不同的管辖法律,这可能会影响周期的执行方式。

在几乎所有情况下,最好使用经验丰富的 代孕机构 为了确保周期能够以有效,安全和合法的方式向前发展。 如果您准备好继续代孕的旅程, 给我们一个电话 我们将为您与案例经理联系,后者可以帮助您入门!

/Surrogacy in Canada vs. the U.S.

Surrogacy in Canada vs. the U.S.

Surrogacy in Canada vs. the U.S.Whether you live in Canada or are considering international travel for gestational surrogacy or egg/sperm donation, you might be considering international gestational surrogacy. Canada, as one possible option, has several important differences in infertility treatment compared to the United States. The laws, however, can be a little confusing, causing many people to ask themselves, “Is surrogacy legal in Canada?” Because of this, it is important to understand the laws governing treatment.

Don’t worry; we’ve done the research for you! If you’ve got questions about pursuing infertility treatment in Canada, read on for more information about the surrogacy laws in Canada and what to expect.

Is surrogacy legal in Canada?

It’s complicated. There are some cases where surrogacy is legal, but the process is very different from surrogacy in the United States. While like the United States – it can vary from province to province – gestational surrogacy in Canada is mostly regulated on a federal level, it is extremely important to consult with a Canadian attorney who specializes in the Canadian fertility laws prior to committing to a cycle there.

What are the surrogacy laws in Canada?

The Assisted Human Reproduction Act of Canada (AHRA) was passed in 2004 and is the main law governing gestational surrogacy. Canada has very strong restrictions on how surrogacy and egg or sperm donation can take place. Provisions in the law include:

  • Surrogacy cannot be a compensated agreement, meaning that an intended parent cannot pay a woman to act as a gestational surrogate.
  • Altruistic surrogacy, however, where a woman agrees to be a surrogate without compensation (out-of-pocket expenses can be reimbursed) is legal.
  • Agencies, attorneys or third parties also can’t be paid for introducing a potential surrogate to a couple.

There are additional restrictions related to egg and sperm donation that may be relevant, depending on an intended parent’s medical situation. It is illegal to buy or sell eggs or sperm in Canada; all donations must be altruistic.

It is also illegal to purchase eggs or sperm from someone acting on the donor’s behalf. Some clinics are able to legally operate as a frozen egg bank, depending on how they run their bank.

Not abiding by the AHRA can have very serious consequences. According to the law, someone violating the AHRA can face up to $500,000 in fines and 10 years in prison.

What are the benefits to gestational surrogacy in Canada?

There are some pretty significant benefits to doing a gestational surrogacy cycle in Canada. The primary advantage is the cost, with a cycle being significantly less expensive than in the United States. A cycle in the U.S. can easily run over $100,000, especially once you account for the IVF cycle, pregnancy healthcare costs, plus fees to the surrogate and other professionals involved in managing the cycle.

In Canada, a cycle can be a fraction of this cost because the surrogate does not receive a fee beyond reimbursement for her expenses. In addition, in some situations, government healthcare or insurance may cover some of the health-related costs. It is important to work with an agency with the knowledge and experience in Canadian surrogacy so that they can help you figure out if this may be an option in your specific case.

In addition to a decreased cycle cost, other associated costs, like travel, medical insurance, and medications, are also much lower than in the United States.

Another benefit is that all babies born in Canada are granted Canadian citizenship at birth. This means that parents are able to easily – and quickly – go back home using the baby’s Canadian passport.

Finally, because surrogates are not financially compensated for the cycle, you can rest assured that the woman you decide to work with truly has only the best of intentions. Though it is rare that a surrogate is only “in it for the money,” working with someone who is not receiving compensation removes any doubt that may remain.

What are the risks to gestational surrogacy in Canada?

While the benefits are strong, there are some potential risks when it comes to doing a gestational surrogacy cycle in Canada. First, because gestational surrogacy must be uncompensated, it can be a little more difficult to find someone to work with, though Extraordinary Conceptions is hoping to be able to match their clients within 3-6 months.

In addition, surrogacy laws in Canada require that a couple using a surrogate apply for a parentage order after birth of the baby. It is not possible to obtain a pre-birth order before the baby is born. In most cases, this post-birth order can be obtained quickly and without difficulty; usually only taking a few weeks depending on the province. There is a possible risk of not having a pre-birth order that either the intended parents can back out of the arrangement, or that the surrogate can decide that she does not want to relinquish custody.

However, while it seems scary, it is important to realize that it is believed that most courts would uphold and honor the intent of the signed contract, especially if DNA testing were to prove that the baby was not biologically related to her. This also has never happened, making the likelihood very slim. According to reproductive attorney Sherry Levitan,

Every province has its own regulatory scheme. We have had a handful of disputes in Canada and the surrogate has never won custody of the child, even in one case where she was a traditional surrogate!

The premise is always that the birth mother has rights, but that premise can be overturned by legislation, contract law or common law.

This is very reassuring to intended parents pursuing surrogacy in Canada! The bottom line

Is surrogacy legal in Canada? Yes, though the surrogacy laws in Canada work a little differently than they do in the United States. If you are considering a gestational surrogacy in Canada, it is imperative to consult an attorney who specializes in gestational surrogacy. Canada has a different governing law, which can impact how a cycle can be performed.

In almost all cases, it is better to use an experienced surrogacy agency in order to ensure that the cycle can move forward in an efficient, safe and legal manner. If you’re ready to move forward on your surrogacy journey, give us a call and we’ll connect you with a case manager who can help get you started!